Google has revised it’s Terms of Service to admit that even if you turn off “Location History” on your cell phone, other apps continue to track your location down to one square foot – always.
According to an Associated Press story, previously, Google’s website stated: “With Location History turned off, the places you go are no longer stored.” That was changed last Thursday to: “… some location data may be saved as part of your activity on other services, like Search and Maps.”
Original Air Date:
Aug 19, 2018
Jonathan Mayer, a professor of computer science at Princeton and the former chief technologist for the FCC’s enforcement bureau: “The notion of having two distinct ways in which you control how your location data is stored is inherently confusing. I can't think off the top of my head of any major online service that architected their location privacy settings in a similar way."